British Fireworks Championship

British Fireworks Championship – Wednesday 14th to Thursday 15th August 2019

British Fireworks ChampionshipThe British Fireworks Championship is a regular annual event held on the Plymouth Hoe (a stones throw away from the Barbican). Thousands of people fill the Hoe seafront to view the spectacular sights as the top professional firework companies compete to be crowned the British Firework Champion. This is one event you don’t want to miss! 🙂

British Firework Championships 2019
Wednesday 14th to Thursday 15th August 2019
British Firework Championship remain in Plymouth until 2029


Photos from the British Firework Championships 2013

Firework photos by Leigh Acton
Firework photos by Emily Clark

** View videos from the British Fireworks Championship 2012 here… **

Press Release – 2011

Plymouth Hoe – Tuesday 16 to Wednesday 17 August 2011

The most anticipated event in the city’s annual events calendar will see thousands of spectators heading up to the Hoe for two evenings of entertainment culminating in spectacular fireworks displays from six companies seeking the coveted title of British Firework Champions.

The companies, in order of firing are:

Tuesday 16 August

Skyburst The Firework Company
Fireworx Scotland
Nemisis Pyrotechnics

Wednesday 17 August

Celebration Fireworks
MLE Pyrotechnics
Highlight Pyrotechnics

The event can be viewed from Plymouth Hoe with entertainment starting from 6.30pm with live music from the Heart Radio stage as well as fairground rides and refreshment stalls. The first firework displays will start at around 9.30pm each evening as dusk arrives.

The multi-storey car park behind the National Marine Aquarium and the nearby Barbican lock gate will be open until 11pm. Most of the city centre car parks will be open until midnight, but with tens of thousands of people expected to attend the event, they are likely to be very busy and the council is advising that members of the public use public transport and park and ride wherever possible.

Staddon Heights Golf Club is providing some private parking at their club, for more details please visit the Staddon Heights Golf Club website.

An extended parking area will be available on the Hoe promenade for blue badge holders, but spaces will be taken on a first come, first served basis. Access will be via Elliott Street entrance to the Hoe promenade from 5.30pm (Madeira Road and Hoe Road will be closed on both days between 1pm and 11pm with some ‘No Parking’ restrictions from 8am).

The toilets on the Hoe and the Barbican will be open on both evenings, as will those in West Hoe, Mount Batten and Jennycliffe. There will also be extra toilets on the Hoe.

Special park and ride services are being provided especially for the event by First, who will be running regular buses from the George Junction, Milehouse and Coypool on both nights.

Buses will run into the city centre every 15 minutes, with the last inbound services leaving Coypool at 8.45pm and the George at 8.30pm (picking up at Milehouse at 8.45pm). After the fireworks there will be frequent buses leaving Royal Parade from 10.15pm onwards (stop A11 for Coypool and stop A12 for Milehouse and the George Junction).

A family ticket for up to 2 adults and 3 children will be £4.70 from the George Junction, £3.90 from Milehouse and £4.30 from Coypool. Single, return and special concession tickets are also available. Free concessionary rates are not valid on the park and ride services from 6pm.

Please note: Plymouth Argyle has a home match on Tuesday evening so parking will be limited but buses will still be running from Milehouse.

For more information and timetables call First on 0845 600 1420 or Traveline on 0871 200 2233.

British Fireworks Championship Website

Text and vote for your fireworks champion

Find out how you can text in to vote for your favourite team during the two day British Firework Championship event